You are currently browsing the monthly archive for September 2012.

As we await the release of O.N.I.F.C.,Wiz Khalifa releases his second lead single from the album. Grabbing the hottest R&B singer out right now, The Weeknd lays down some smooth vocals on Remember Me. It sounds like the people behind The Weeknd’s music produced this track. To me it sounds like Wiz is featured on The Weeknd’s record. HA!

We haven’t heard or seen Kanye West promoting his label’s Cruel Summer album. Weird, right? When I think about it though, West or Jay-Z never really promoted Watch The Throne either. It just grew organically though word-of-mouth and social media platforms. Plus the music speaks for itself. So instead of doing radio or television promos (because you know everyone will just ask him about Kim Kardashian), West creates his own interview and talks about Cruel Summer. At first I was kind of disappointed with Cruel Summer but it’s growing on me as I listen to it everyday.

Just one of the best albums of 2012 Devotion, Jessie Ware releases a new video for her record ‘Night Light’. This artistic video actually features Ware’s boyfriend and her sister! Ware really reminds me of Sade. If you like this record then you’ll really love Devotion. The whole album is down-tempo. It’s also an album that everyone can enjoy. I highly recommend Devotion!

I love Florence’s voice and I love Calvin Harris’ beats! When Harris remixed Florence + The Machine’s single ‘Spectrum (Say My Name)’, it became clear that Welch can tear up the dance floor. I swear they’re just made for each other. For Harris’ upcoming album 18 Months, Welch lends her amazing vocals on ‘Sweet Nothing’. I don’t really understand the video, but Welch gets turnt UP! 18 Months will also feature Kelis, Example, Nicky Romero, Ellie Goulding, Tinie Tempah, Ne-Yo, and Ayer Marar. So get the album on October 29th.

One of the best albums of the year, Channel ORANGE is still being play heavily on my iPhone. After his debut performance on SNL this weekend with John Mayer on the strings, Ocean dropped the visuals to his stand out track, Pyramids. The video, directed by Nabil, has Ocean getting drunk at the bar and seeing the strippers inner demons. Mayer also makes solo appearance. I really hope that Ocean and Mayer create more music cause it’s fucking magical!

Jesse Boykins III never fails to impress me, NEVER! For this smooth record, Jesse takes the trio KING’s soulful song ‘Hey’ and puts a spin on it. By sampling the chorus Jesse does what he does best, singing in his beautiful voice. I don’t think I can ever get sick of Jesse’s voice. He really calms you down.

Say goodbye to this cruel summer on September 18.

1. Kanye West, R.Kelly – To The World
2. Kanye West, Jay Z, Big Sean – Clique
3. Kanye West, Big Sean, Pusha T, 2 Chainz – Mercy
4. Kanye West, Pusha T, Ghostface Killah – New God Flow
5. Raekwon, Pusha T, Common, 2 Chainz, Cyhi The Prynce, Kid Cudi, D’Banj – The Morning
6. DJ Khaled – Cold
7. The-Dream, Pusha T, Ma$e – Higher
8. John Legend, Travi$ Scott, Teyana Taylor, Cyhi The Prynce, Malik Yusef – Sin City
9. Kanye West, Big Sean, 2 Chainz, Marsha Ambrosius – The One
10. Kid Cudi – Creepers
11. John Legend, Teyana Taylor – Bliss
12. Kanye West, Chief Keef, Pusha T, Big Sean, Jadakiss – I Don’t Like (Remix)

Can’t wait? Then listen to the snippets on iTunes.

My favourite record from Rick Ross this year finally gets some visuals! When Pharrell produced ‘Presidential’ I really though he would put his vocals on the song, but instead we get newcomer Elijah Blake who does a fantastic job. This isn’t a great video at all and I could care less because the song is just so fucking smooth!

There were plenty of mixtapes that came in the last two weeks. Lil Wayne dropped Dedication 4 which was complete shit, Talib Kweli dropped Attack The Block which is really good, and Big Sean gave us Detroit which really grew on me. But it’s Gunplay’s mixtape 106 & Snort that won me over! When you hear Gunplay rap you can tell that he doesn’t give a fuck. The guy is so uncut and rachet. Gunplay freestyles over classic hip-hop tracks like ‘187’, ‘Crimnology’ and new club bangers like ‘Pop That’ and ‘So Sophisticated’ on 106 & Snort.

Don’t be scared, give it a download.

Download: Gunplay – 106 & Snort

There really isn’t any rap label or artists fresher than Kanye West and his GOOD Music clique. Kanye is going to close out this summer season with Cruel Summer on September 18. I think it will arrive a week early on iTunes to avoid any leaks. Jay and Kanye saw the success with Watch The Throne and Frank Ocean with Channel ORANGE by releasing it a week early digitally, so it wouldn’t be a surprise if this happens.